Come Thou Fount

‘O to grace how great a debtor daily I’m constrained to be.’

Robert Robinson wrote the hymn Come Thou Fount in 1757. In the last stanza of the hymn he writes ‘Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it, Prone to leave the I love. Here’s my heart lord. Take and seal it, seal it for thy courts above.’

The story goes that Robert was riding a train in the late 1700′s and heard a young lady humming the hymn he wrote and he responded to the young lady, ‘Madam, I am the poor unhappy man who wrote that hymn many years ago, and I would give a thousand worlds, if I had them, to enjoy the feelings I had then.’

This is why we made the choice to dedicate ourselves to reintroducing hymns in a creative way. It allows us to connect with tradition that extends back hundreds of years. This connection not only gives us deep roots that connect us more deeply with our faith, but it also provides a personal narrative that both encourages and consoles.

Below is our version of Come Thou Fount:

Leave a Reply

