Christian Promotion

I (Nathan Ykema) always have a hard time with this question…are Christians promoting themselves or are they promoting Christ? The follow up question has to be, if Christians are promoting Christ why are they not better at promoting other things that are doing the same thing?

As an independent artist I know the work that goes into creating something. It is painful, difficult, and resource intense. When we finish a project we are compelled to share it because we believe in it.

Let me ge to an example: Go to the Hillsong United Twitter feed (www.twitter.com/hillsongunited) scroll through their feed and try to find a tweet that mentions something other than their new album Zion…over the last 10 days (where I stopped) I point this out not because I think Hillsong is doing something wrong but it points to the bigger problem in Christian art…if we don’t talk about what we’re creating who else will?


One comment

  1. Pingback: Seven Days « Hymns of the People


Leave a comment